About The Old Mill
Steeped in traditional charm with its original oak beams, sluices and water wheel, The Old Mill is a tranquil river setting in 20 acres of countryside making it one of the most picturesque venues in Royal Berkshire. The site can be traced back to the Domesday survey of 1086. Known then as Kingsmill it was held by William the Conqueror and valued at 20 shillings, along with the two fisheries at 5 shillings each.
In 1644 the second battle of Newbury saw Aldermaston and The Old Mill feature in one of the many skirmishes to take place at the time between the Cavaliers and Cromwell's Roundheads. One such anniversary was fully re-enacted by the Sealed Knott Society, camping overnight in the Mill grounds and continuing their 'ongoing' battle towards Basing
The present Old Mill was built circa 1800 and used as a flour mill until the 1920s, trading with such companies as Huntley and Palmers. The original iron water wheel was removed during the Second World War and sold for weapons, in which time the Mill was used as a billet, tea rooms and guest house. In 1957 the top two storeys were removed and an oak floor was laid over the old flagstones. Today the Grade II listed buildings continue to exude their old English character and charm. Privately run by the Arlott family for more than 60 years, The Old Mill has earned a reputation for traditional home cooking and a friendly, personalised service.
Click here if you would like to download a more detailed history of The Old Mill